golf news

18th December 2017


Wed. 13 Dec - Men’s Ambrose Classic teams of four, was won by Ian Richardson, Rick Johnston, David Hand and Willie Kifoto with 51 7/8 nett.  Runners-up with 55 5/8 nett were Alan Russ, Don O’Meara, Ray Matthews and Ian Robinson. Nearest the pin on 1st/10th in A grade was David Hand and in B grade- Peter Forbes. On the 9th/18th hole Willie Kifoto nailed it.

Thu. 14 Dec - The women golfers held their Christmas dinner at the clubhouse where major trophies for the year were presented after a lovely meal and some light entertainment. Summer Cup A grade: Adele Rowarth 203 nett, runner-up: Norma Begely 210 nett.  B Grade Summer Cup: Mariette Deppeler 209 nett and runner-up with 210 was Faith Morissy. The Medal of Medalist was won by Vicki Hannah with 68 nett.  The silver spoon winner was Stacey Thomas. The Mona McLeod Brooch was won in bronze division by Sandra Toone with +5.  Our Club Champion was Vicki Hannah with 274 and runner-up club champion Sandra Kent had 282.  The 54 nett winner with 227 was Sandra Toone and Kerryn Wagstaff with 238 was the runner-up. The putting over all in the championship was Sandra Kent with 93 putts. The Stableford Championship winner was Jean Hansen 87 points and on 86 points Sandra Toone was the runner-up. The SWDGA Rene Austin was won by Stacey Thomas with nett 74.  The Thursday eclectic trophy in A grade was won by Vicki Hannah with 60/53 nett and in B grade this was won by Cheryle Polgeest with 76/62 nett on a count-back from Adele Rowarth. In the Monday eclectic competition, Sandra Toone won with 27 ¼, and in B grade Faith Morrissy won with 26 ¼ . Putting for the year was won by Marg Smith with 89 putts for Thursday and with 41 putts for the Monday rounds. The most birdies for the year achieved by Vicki Hanna, was 11.  Vicki also netted the most gobblers with 11 of those too.  Faith Morrissy in B grade had 15 pars for the year- the most in her grade.  A special award for the night “The cheeky award” was presented to Caroline Wren – who ably emceed the proceedings, and for reasons not given here, thoroughly deserved the award!  Thanks were given to all the office bearers and committee members for doing a great job running the women’s side of golfing.

Sun. 17 Dec - Men’s Stableford shootout 22 holes. The A grade winner was Don O’Meara with 38 points and also with 38 points T. Bedford was runner-up.  In B grade, Lance Thomas won with 45 points and Ray Matthews with 41 points was runner-up. Nearest the pin on 1st/10th in A grade was Don Wagstaff and in B Grade Rod Beecroft was closest.  On 9th/18th Crag McKenzie in A grade was the only contender.  The shoot-out winner was David Hand with Rod Beecroft the runner-up.

Coming up

Women players are meeting each Monday at 1 pm for 9 holes stableford or stroke.  Make up your own groups.

The chicken Run continues on a Friday each week.

A Wednesday mixed competition will be held over the summer break.

Women players are meeting each Monday at 1 pm for 9 holes stableford or stroke. Make up your own groups.

Special competition and meal New Year’s Eve- see notice board at clubhouse.

apollo bay radio